top of page
Trophy History

These are the trophies for the current competitions.

The ‘Quartet Small Print’ Trophy. Glass domed with a model photographer.

1999 – The Quartet Trophy was presented by Geoff Holmes and may have been originally awarded for mini-prints.  (This trophy was hand-made by Geoff’s son???)

The 1st winner was J.Harman

Set Subject PDI's - Shields.

2000 - The Print and Slide “League” shields were presented by Sandra & David Johnson when the club ran a series of points based competitions (both slides and prints) spread over the year.  They are now awarded for the Set Subject PDI comps. (The trophies are not engraved).

PDI of the Year - Casket.

1976 - PDI of the Year was presented to the club by ???

It was awarded for the best slide of the year, now PDI of the year.

The 1st winner was John Smith who owned a shop opposite the Library.

The Ray Needham Trophy for prints.

1982 – The Ray Needham Trophy was presented by Ray Needham and is awarded to the best print in the annual exhibition.

The 1st winner was Geoff Holmes, a longstanding club secretary.

The President’s Trophy. Large Shield

Monochrome Print Trophy - Tankard. Now from 2022 An Engraved Glass Shield

2001 - Mono Print Trophy was bought by the club. The 1st winner was Tony Mar-Gerrison, a longstanding club treasurer.

2022 - New Trophy presented to the club by Paul Nicholas. The original was fully populated.




The Johnson Conservation Trophy - Bronze Otters.

1991 - Johnson Conservation Trophy was presented by Sandra & David Johnson. The 1st winner was Ken Brendon.

Nason Print Trophy - Landscape - Shield.

1981 – The Nason Trophy was presented by the then President, Cyril Nason and is awarded to the best “recent” mono landscape.

The 1st winner was Tony Mar-Gerrison.

The People Trophy. Glass domed model.

1981 - The People Trophy was presented to the club by Geoff Holmes and was originally awarded for the best panel of three (10x8) portraits – hence it’s inscription “80 trophy for portraiture”.  (This trophy was hand-made by Geoff’s son.)

The 1st winner was Ray Needham who ran an electrical business in the town.



Most Improved Club Member - Photographer on plinth

2015 - Most Improved Member Trophy was presented by Trudy & John Haddon. The 1st winner was Suzanne McLeod.  (The trophy is not engraved).



The George Hunt Trophy, for best show PDI. Cup

1987 - George Hunt Trophy was presented by George’s widow and is awarded to the best Slide (PDI) in the annual exhibition. (The trophy is not engraved). The 1st winner was ………….

The Cheney Print Trophy - Cup.

1976 - The Cheney Trophy was presented to the club by R.E.Cheney Esq., the son of a local chemist, whose shop used to be where Costa is now.  The competition rules are deliberately designed to allow members to showcase their printing skills over a wide range of subjects. The 1st winner was John Petch who went on to win it for the next six years in a row.




The Creative Trophy - engraved Derivative Trophy

The Creative Trophy was presented by John Petch and originally awarded for Derivative prints.

The 1st winner was V. Walker in 1990, the same year that he won the Cheney.

The Colour Print Trophy

1981 - The 1st winner was Glen Pickett.

2022 - New Trophy presented to the club by Peter Beckett.

The Most Popular Print Award at the Annual Exhibition voted for by the public. 

No trophy – just the kudos :)


Colour Print Trophy copy.jpg
bottom of page